Big Sky

by Kate Atkinson

Not much to write about with this one.

It is the latest in Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series, and I was hard pressed to remember enough about the detective and his personal life (which does impinge on the story) from reading some, though not all, of the earlier novels in the series.

I don’t think that detective fiction is Atkinson’s best genre, and so far I have read nothing by this author that even begins to compare with Life after Life or A God in Ruins.  The book is set on the north-eastern coast of England, in the towns of Whitby and Scarborough and the surrounding area.  An end-of-pier show with a drag act and rather dated comedy act form a part of the scenery (and characters).  The setting is bleak, and the story bleaker.

I was interested enough to read to the end of the book, but very ready to pass it on to a charity shop as soon as I’d finished it.

I think I will steer clear of Atkinson’s novels for a while.  There are other books I want to read more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.