A God in Ruins

by Kate Atkinson

This book, and its predecessor Life after Life, are probably the best books I’ve read this decade.  I would happily read them again and again (and indeed, I re-read the first book before I started on this one).  Why, then, am I finding it so hard to put my response to these books into words on this blog?  Both reviews have been in ‘draft’ status for ages.

The only thing for it seems to be to change the status to ‘published’ and then maybe to write a more complete review when I read the book again.  I am sure that I will re-read it at some stage, because it is a book that has got under my skin.  The images of what it might feel like to be a member of WW2 bomber crew are seared onto my brain.  Nothing – except perhaps the 2019 Channel 4 production of Joseph Heller’s Catch 22 – has captured my imagination about there experiences more.

[Written in December 2019]

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Transcription | A rug and a book

  2. Pingback: Life after Life | A rug and a book

  3. Pingback: Big Sky | A rug and a book

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.