Bewilderment

by Richard Powers

Having read, at various times, how important at an author Richard Powers is considered to be (the new Philip Roth, etc) I thought I should give his work a go.

This novel was shortlisted for the Booker in 2021.  It is short, and is one of those books that doesn’t feel significant while you are reading it, but somehow haunts you afterwards. This is the story of a widowed father and his unusual son. The child, who perhaps has some form of autism, is lined up for an experimental treatment.  Father and son, but particularly the son, are attuned to and passionately concerned about the natural environment.

The ending (no spoilers here) disappointed me somewhat.

I think I’ve given the book away, which is a bit of a shame as – writing this review a few months later – I feel I’d like to read it again!